Why we binge

Really great post, I identify a lot.

Drunky Drunk Girl

1:16 pm

So, it’s been almost two whole weeks since my sober “birthday,” and while I felt (feel) proud and capable and free, the usual stuff continues to come up: worrying about my motivation levels crapping out on me and then, not being able to earn a living; worrying about the wedding in May, where I’m going to have to see my brother and his girlfriend; wanting to drink, surprisingly, out of boredom, out of a general sense of, OK, Now what? The usual stuff is still there, and while I feel much more balanced and able to deal with it, I still do want to drink. More like, I want to have ONE glass of red wine after a hot shower–like, a bubble bath for my insides. But then I remember the million reasons not to, and I let the fantasy go.

Maybe I simply need to set a…

View original post 924 more words

2 thoughts on “Why we binge

  1. Excellent post. Remember can’t have one read below for my own experience. I thoroughly enjoyed reading your thoughts.The true nature of addiction and the need for escapism is why I drank. It believe that it was mental illness (depression) that drove me to use. I am t a soldier of recovery over twenty years now (truly blessed) but there was a time in my life I didn’t have a choice. I had to use and abuse alcohol or I would have topped myself. However, I could not recover without A.A.

    Some people have to die in order for the rest of us to live. Addiction is a choice today thank God I know this now. Today I choose not to drink. It wasn’t always like that for me or my family. My father, mother and older brother have all died from alcoholism. My father was sober in A.A. for 11 months and lifted the first drink at a wedding. That day he died (alcoholic poisoning) at the ripe old age of 41. I have a brother who is wheel chair bound because of his alcoholism and will quite possibly die from the disease very soon . I also have a younger brother who is also a practicing alcoholic who no doubt may die if he continues. None of these people decided to become addicts. I’m sure it wasn’t their chosen career path.

    Nonetheless they have and are destroying their lives with this deep seated insidious disease. No one chooses this as a way of live. Who in their right would? Addiction is horrendous, degrading, humiliating, shameful and disgustingly powerful. With out help it is too much for us! Recovery first and foremost. I have a brilliant life today but it took some time to get there and a lot of help from those who walked the walk.

    Check out this recovery blog please.Loads of helpful recovery stuff please feel free to pass it on.

    http:/www.essentialsofrecovery.com

    • Thanks so much for your comments, sorry it has taken me a while to reply. I have been out there working and also fighting the good fight and have lost track of the blogging! Alcoholism in the family is terribly tragic, but all we can do is serve as good examples. The Greater Manchester Recovery Federation here in my home town have turned me on to a great slogan – ‘Caught not taught’ – meaning that you cant teach someone recovery but you can transmit it to them by being a living example of the happiness and joy that sobriety brings. That’s what I am trying to do. Thanks again for getting in touch.

Leave a Reply

